Rejected

Today I received a letter from New College Florida, likely the best school in the state, declining my application for Fall 2007. The reason they stated was that they received a record number of applications and couldn’t accommodate everyone who qualified. It seemed like a standard bulk form that they probably issued to everyone they refused, irrespective of actual objections. I’m all too familiar with the ways of business.

Regardless, I will be contacting the admissions department tomorrow to see about reapplying for Spring 2008. In the meantime, I’ll take primer classes at the University of South Florida or the local community college. Additionally, both Stanford and MIT offer free online courses in my field of study: cognitive neuroscience. I’m determined to pursue my academic interests one way or another. The turndown from New College has given impetus to my ambition. There is opportunity in every setback.

2 thoughts on “Rejected

Leave a Reply

